Congratulations to the confirmed board nominees

FSM Information Services

 Palikir, Pohnpei—The Twentieth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia held its Sixth Special Session this past November 13th to 17th, and citizens will be interested to know that many of the nominees for membership in various governing boards were confirmed.

Always and increasingly important to the sustainability of our nation, the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority (NORMA) will now enjoy the leadership and support of Mr. Grilly Jack, representing the FSM National Government, and Mr. Nena William, representing the State of Kosrae.

MiCare will see Dr. Elizabeth Iehsi Keller on its Board of Directors representing the State of Pohnpei, while Dr. Tulensru E. Waguk will serve as a member of the Board of Regents for the College of Micronesia, representing the State of Kosrae.

Mr. Justo Lokopwe has been confirmed to serve as the FSM National Election Commissioner for Chuuk State. Meanwhile, the FSM Telecommunication Regulation Authority will be served by Mr. Mathias Lawrence.

The Government of the Federated States of Micronesia sends its best wishes to these men and women as they endeavor to serve our nation and its citizens by serving the organizations they’re a part of.

Citizens unfamiliar with governing boards and their functions may appreciate the following explanation. A Board of Regents, such as the College of Micronesia’s, is a committee nominated by the President of the Federated States of Micronesia and confirmed by the Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia to supervise and oversee the general welfare of the campus and the conduct of its staff and students. Similarly the Board of Directors for MiCare, the policy-making body of the institution, is also comprised of individuals nominated by the President and confirmed by the Congress.

Comments are now closed for this entry