U.S. Embassy Kolonia Commemorates Veterans Day

Embassy of the United States of America, Kolonia

Vet 2On November 11, the U.S. Embassy Kolonia in the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) partnered with the Pohnpei Veterans Association to host a series of activities to commemorate 2020 U.S. Veterans Day. To kick off the activities the Honorable Pohnpei State Governor Reed B. Oliver delivered opening remarks to a 5k Fun Run. During his remarks Governor Oliver extended his appreciation to all veterans who have served in promoting world peace and security.

Following the 5k Fun Run, a wreath laying ceremony was held at the Fallen Soldiers Memorial at the Pohnpei International Airport with veterans and their family members. His Excellency Secretary Kandhi Elieisar, FSM Department of Foreign Affairs spoke on behalf of the FSM Government. During his address he spoke about shared pride that is felt through the service of FSM citizens in the U.S. Armed Forces, including his son Michael who is serving as a Corporal out of Camp Lejeune in South Carolina. Chargé d'affaires Somer Bessire-Briers spoke on behalf of the U.S. Embassy Kolonia and expressed the U.S. appreciation to all veterans who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces. During her remarks, Chargé d'affaires Bessire-Briers noted, “The sons and daughters of the FSM who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces demonstrate our special relationship and that our two peoples share a common commitment to the values of democracy, the rule of law, and respect for human rights”.

A moment of silence was observed following the wreath laying ceremony in honor of FSM citizens who have fallen while in combat.Vet 1

The Compact of Free Association enables Micronesians to serve in the U.S. Armed Forces, which they have done honorably since World War II. Currently, citizens from the F.S.M and other Pacific islands serve in the U.S. military at a higher per-capita rate than U.S. citizens. Congratulations to following winners for the Veterans Day 5k Fun Run:

  1. Ioanis Paulino, Time: 16:34
  2. Stevrick Leopold, Time: 17:10
  3. Fernanda Aliseda, Time: 17:14
  4. Jesse Selkar, Time: 18:39
  5. LtCol Erin Richter, Time: 20:19
  6. McMillan Benjamin, Time: 20:45
  7. Zacky Henly, Time: 20:56
  8. Keanan Likor, Time: 20:58
  9. Rothman Agrippa, Time: 20:59
  10. Dana Leeling, Time: 21:07

Comments are now closed for this entry