Congress to convene new 20th Body

PALIKIR, POHNPEI – May 05, 2017. The Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia will convene on May 11, 2017, in Palikir to seat the recently elected two-year representatives of the states to the Nation’s twentieth congressional body.
According to the recent elections in March 2017, the following elected two-year Senators will be seated to represent their states in the 20th Congress. Representing the municipalities and regions in the State of Chuuk are:
1.Florencio Singkoro Harper, to represent Congressional Election District (ED)- One, comprised of the Mortlocks Islands;
2.Victor Gouland, for Congressional ED-Two, comprised of Weno and Northern Namoneas;
3.Derensio S. Konman, to represent Congressional ED-Three made up of the Tonoas, Uman, Fefan, Parem and Tsis of;
4.Tiwiter Aritos, for Congressional ED-Four or also known as the Faichuuk Region; and
5.Robson Romolow, as representative of Congressional ED-Five also known as the Halls and Western Islands, and Namonuito.
Two year representatives from the State of Pohnpei are:
1.Ferny S. Perman, for Congressional ED-One comprised of Kolonia, Sokehs, Sapwuahfik, Nukuoro and Kapingamarangi;
2.Dion G. Neth, for Congressional ED-Two made up of Madolenihmw and Kitti; and
3.Esmond B. Moses, for Congressional ED-Three comprised of U, Nett, Mwoakilloa and Pingelap.
Paliknoa K. Welly from the State of Kosrae and Isaac V. Figir of the State of Yap are the two-year representatives of their respective states to the new congressional body.
Also to be seated to the 20th Congress are the At-large or four-year representatives of the states and they are:
1.Wesley W. Simina from Chuuk;
2.Alik L. Alik from Kosrae;
3.David W. Panuelo from Pohnpei; and
4.Joseph J. Urusemal Yap.
The general public is invited to witness the Opening Session of the new Twentieth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia in Palikir at 10am on Thursday - May 11, 2017. Through the services of the FSM Telecommunications Corporations and the assistances of the Pohnpei Public Broadcasting Corporation, the event will be streamed live from Palikir through the state radios.